Fly with the Phoenix


Interstate wisdom
September 30, 2009, 1:45 am
Filed under: Career Transitions, Family Transitions, Personal Transitions

Interstates are notorious for billboards, a type of message litter that now is just a part of highway travel. But while coming home today from a business meeting in Branson, a billboard on I-44 caught my eye and caused me to say “Woah, no kidding.”The image of a man leaning against a wall with his head in both hands would have been enough to make me take a second look, but the message, “Nothing is too hard for God” nailed it for me. It also caused me to think why I, like so many others, won’t always lay my burdens at God’s feet. The answer came: It’s not that I don’t believe God can handle my problems, but rather why would God want to? The spiritual side of me believes that God wants to be in fellowship with each of his children, but the intellectual side is more like “God helps those who will help themselves.” Add the little issue I have about thinking I am in control of my life and therein lies the problem.

We are not in control of our lives. The person who walks into her office and hears the news “your job has been eliminated” can attest to that, as can the man who has just heard the dreaded news about his tests from the doctor. We’re not promised a tomorrow, friends.

Transitions in our families, jobs, health–lives–remind us we’re not holding the reigns. Yet, transitions are a good opportunity for us to not only remember who is holding the reigns, but also to say to God “OK, you have my attention. What do you want me to do?” So often when we are faced with a major life change, we put our heads down and try to plow through as best we know how. Sometimes we are successful, sometimes frustrated, and sometimes we fail. Perhaps making time to stop, breathe deeply and reconnect with our Creator will give us the clarity we seek.

Heady stuff to spring from a billboard, but it’s a good example that God can speak to you at any given moment. Will you be listening?

I’d love to hear what you think about life and who is in control: us, God, a combination? Share your thoughts on this chilly fall evening. God bless!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

A definite great read..Jim Bean

Comment by JimmyBean

You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog.

Comment by Michael R

Thank you, Michael, for the comment. It’s my hope that the blog posts by me or a guest blogger will provide some new insight or hope to folks dealing with transition. Hope you visit again soon.

Comment by hopefultransitions

You you should make changes to the webpage subject title Interstate wisdom Fly with the Phoenix to something more catching for your content you write. I enjoyed the blog post withal.

Comment by Team Roster

Team Roster, I appreciate your suggestion and happy to hear you enjoyed the post. Hope you visit again soon.

Comment by hopefultransitions




Leave a Reply

