Fly with the Phoenix


Life transitions and your career
March 3, 2010, 4:34 am
Filed under: Career Transitions, Personal Transitions | Tags: ,

I’m working on a presentation for the Missouri Professional Communicators annual spring conference (March 13) in St. Louis. The topic for our panel is “Navigating Life Transitions That Affect Your Career.” I’m not sure if I’m to talk about having a transition plan or how to stay on task at your desk when you really want to cry because you’re fighting with your husband, your kid wants to move out of your house, and your ex-husband is behaving like a psycho-jerk. Been there. Wear the T-shirt.I suppose the safe bet is bring out my talk about Making A Transition Plan. However, the discussion that will get the laughs and nods of agreement will be staying on task at work when your personal life is up in smoke. What would you rather listen to?

We’ve all had to fight through personal challenges while keeping our jobs. If I look back on surviving divorce, the death of my parents and a custody modification, I’m not sure I have a clear idea how I got to work every day. I know somedays, my work was the only thing that made sense to me,  and the one constant in my life. So when that was threatened just after my daughter moved out of the house, this seemed to be the straw that broke my back. I realized then that nothing is forever, and it’s vital to have a Plan B ready to go.

You probably can spot by now that I’m a little fuzzy on my 15-minute talk, but the theme is swirling in my head, cooking for another day or so before I can serve it up. But I would be interested to hear from you how you’ve worked through personal challenges while keeping your wits about you in the office. Your story might inspire others walking their difficult path right now.

And if anyone wants to attend the conference–featuring as its keynote speaker Cheryl D. Polk, executive veep for United Way of Greater St. Louis–email Suzanne Corbett (corbettsuzanne@aol.com) by March 4. It should be an engaging day with good food, lively discussions, a book sale, attendance prizes and more.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

